30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.
bcrowell
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:14 pm

Has anyone out there besides Michael Jackson tasted the 30 year old Bruichladdich single malt whisky distilled in October 2004? Please let me know your tasting impressions as I plan to purchase a bottle in the near furture and would like a few non-Jackson tasting impression before doing so. Many thanks.

User avatar
Spirit of Islay
Triple Gold Member
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Usually somewhere with Whisky......
Contact:

Postby Spirit of Islay » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:44 pm

30yo Distilled 2004 ?
I take it you mean the 1973 Distillery bottling ?
If so it's not a bad dram but the 1970 is a far superior bottling.

Slainté
Gordon

bcrowell
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:50 pm

Gordon, thanks for the quick reply. You're right, the release date was October 2004 so I'm assuming the malt was distilled in 1974. Can I buy the 1970 anywhere in Canada or the US?

User avatar
Spirit of Islay
Triple Gold Member
Posts: 2541
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Usually somewhere with Whisky......
Contact:

Postby Spirit of Islay » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:58 pm

Hi ,
I'm in the UK so i can't help you there but if you can pop into the chat on my site tonight there will be some Americans and a canadian on , they'll be able to tell you better , the details of the chat are :-
Image
Central Eur - 9.30pm
UK time - 8.30pm
Eastern US - 3.30pm
Central US - 2.30pm
Mountain US - 1.30pm
Pacific US - 12.30pm
Just enter through the site and click on "The Stillroom" .
Slainté
Gordon

bcrowell
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:01 pm

OPkay, thanks for the tip on the chat room. I'll join in at 4:30 pm Atlantic time as I live in New Brunswick, Canada.

Lawrence
Matured cask
Posts: 5019
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Postby Lawrence » Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:57 am

I have tasted the 1970 and remember it as the best dram I've ever had from Bruichladdich and the 1973 is good but not as good. I understand that all the inventory of the 1970 in Canada is gone. If I come across a bottle I'll let you know.


Return to “Questions & Answers”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest