World Whiskies Awards 2011

News and announcements from the Whisky Magazine team
Rob Allanson
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:30 pm

World Whiskies Awards 2011

Postby Rob Allanson » Sun Mar 06, 2011 2:05 pm

World Whiskies Awards winners



300 whiskies have battled over three tasting rounds for the coveted titles of the '2011 Best Whiskies in the World', with some surprising results; with Japanese distiller Suntory winning both the 'World's Best Single Malt' and 'World's Best Blend' categories, the first time that a single whisky producer has taken both titles.

Three intensive rounds of blind tastings have taken place by Whisky Magazine's independent editorial panel drawn from the best journalists and retailers across the world, and also by industry representatives made up of master blenders, distillers and brand ambassadors in the final round. The winners of the '2011 World Whiskies Awards' were announced at a dinner at the Waldorf, Hilton Hotel, in London and were as follows:
World' Best Winner Brand
World's Best Whisky Liqueur Drambuie The Royal Legacy of 1745
World's Best Grain Whisky Greenore 15 years old
World's Best Blended Whisky Hibiki 21 years old
World's Best North American Whisky Parker's Heritage Collection 10 years old Wheated Bourbon
World's Best Single Malt Whisky Yamazaki 1984

The World Whiskies Awards is the annual selection of the very best whiskies internationally. This year entries have been received from; Canada, France, India, Ireland, Japan, Scotland, South Africa, Sweden, USA and Wales. Categories are based upon the commonly held whisky groupings which define both the style and the process of whisky and whisky production: single malt, blended, blended malt, grain, American and whisky liqueurs. Organised by *Whisky Magazine, this annual competition selects, awards and promotes to consumers and trade the 'Best Whiskies in the World'.

The competition is open to **proprietary bottlings only, and is chaired by Dave Broom, contributing editor of Whisky Magazine and editor-in-chief of Whisky Magazine Japan, and exists to inform and educate consumers throughout the world about whisky. Categories are based upon the commonly held whisky groupings which define the style and process of whisky/whiskey production; malt whisky, blended whisky, blended malt whisky, American whiskey and whisky liqueurs.

Chairman of the judges, Dave Broom, commented: "The competition featured some eye-opening whiskies and the judging panel had a hard time separating the good from the very good. My congratulations go to the winners, the judges' exacting standards mean that the winners are truly the greatest whiskies in the world."

Category and sub category winners

Best Canadian Blended Whisky

(These all fell into the no age statement category so were tasted against each other)

The shortlist

Caribou Crossing

Canadian 83

Canadian Mist Black Diamond

Forty Creek Confederation Oak Reserve

Proof Proof Whisky

Royal Canadian

Wiser's Legacy

The Winner:

Wiser's Legacy

Best Irish Blended

Jameson 18 Years Old Limited Reserve

Jameson Rarest Vintage Reserve

Tullamore Dew 12 Years Old Special Reserve

The category winner

Tullamore Dew 12 Years Old Special Reserve

Best Japanese Blended Whisky

The sub category winners were

Hibiki 12 Years Old

Hibiki 17 Years Old

Hibiki 21 Years Old

Nikka From The Barrel

The best Japanese blended whisky is:

Hibiki 21 Years Old

Best Rest of the World blended whisky

Three Ships Bourbon Cask Finish

Three Ships 5 Years Old

The winner

Three Ships Bourbon Cask Finish

Best Scotch blended whisky

The sub category winners are

Black Bull 12 Years Old Deluxe Blend

Cutty Sark 18 Years Old

Hankey Bannister 40 Years Old

The category winner is:

Hankey Bannister 40 Years Old

Best American Whiskey - Bourbon

Subcategory winners are

Blanton's Single Barrel Bourbon

Parker's Heritage Collection 10 Year Old Cask Strength Wheated Bourbon

Four Roses Limited Edition Single Barrel 2010

The category winner

Parker's Heritage Collection 10 Year Old Cask Strength Wheated Bourbon

Best American Whisky non bourbon

Entries were:

Bernheim Wheat Whiskey

Rittenhouse Straight Rye 100 Proof

Sazerac Straight Rye

Thomas H. Handy Rye

The winner was

Thomas H. Handy Rye

Single malt category winners

Best Campbeltown

The shortlist was

Hazelburn CV

Longrow 14 Years Old

Springbank 12 Years Old

The winner

Springbank 12 Years Old

Best Highland

Balblair 1989 Vintage

Balblair 2000

Glen Garioch Vintage 1978

Glenmorangie Signet

The winner

Glenmorangie Signet

Best Islay

Ardbeg Supernova 2010

Bowmore Tempest

Caol Ila 25 Years Old

Lagavulin 16 Years Old

The winner:

Bowmore Tempest

Best Island non Islay

Highland Park 25 Years Old

Talisker 57 North

Talisker 10 Years Old

The Arran Malt 14 Years Old

The winner

Highland Park 25 Years Old

Best Speyside

Glenfarclas 40 Years Old

Glenfiddich Snow Phoenix

Longmorn 16 Years Old

The Balvenie Signature

The winner was

Glenfarclas 40 Years Old

Best Lowland

Auchentoshan 1998 Sherry Matured

Glenkinchie 12 Years Old

The winner was

Auchentoshan 1998 Sherry Matured

Best Irish Single malt

Bushmills 16 Years Old

Bushmills 21 Years Old

Tyrconnell Port Finish

The Wild Geese Single Malt Irish Whiskey

The winner is

Bushmills 16 Years Old

Best Japanese single malt

Hakushu Bourbon Barrel

Yamazaki 1984

Yoichi 10 Years Old

Yoichi 1990

The winner

Yamazaki 1984

Best Rest of the World single malt

Glen Breton Battle of the Glen

Kavalan Solist Sherry Cask Strength

Sullivans Cove Bourbon Maturation

The winner


Best Irish pot still whiskey

Midleton Very Rare

Green Spot

Redbreast 12 Years Old

Redbreast 15 Years Old

The winner was

Redbreast 15 Years Old

*Whisky Magazine

Whisky Magazine is published 8 times a year and is the leading publication in this sector. Every issue brings you articles on the art, science and romance of the 'water of life', plus pages of informative tasting notes.

**Proprietary Whiskies - owned by the distiller and brand owner

About the Judges


Dave Broom

Contributing editor, Whisky Magazine UK. Editor of Whisky Magazine Japan. Whisky expert


Rob Allanson

Editor of Whisky Magazine

Charles MacLean

Former Whisky Magazine editor. Whisky expert

Tom Morton

BBC journalist. Whisky writer

Martine Nouet

Former editor of Whisky Magazine France. Whisky chef

Neil Ridley

Whisky Blogger (

Dominic Roskrow

Former editor of Whisky Magazine. Whisky expert

Bernhard Schafer

Writer, expert and judge

Annabelle Meikle

Industry Expert

Ed Bates

Industry Expert

Sukhinder Singh

Owner Whisky Exchange

Serge Valentin

Whisky Blogger and self-confessed Malt Maniac


Charles Cowdery

Bourbon expert . Whisky writer

Mark Gillespie

Whisky Podcaster. Whisky expert

LeNell Smothers

Whiskey writer and educator.

Mike Miller,

Bar owner of Delilah's. Whisky expert

Liza Weisstuch

Whisky Magazine contributor


Davin de Kergommeaux

Malt Maniac. Canadian whisky expert


David Croll

Publisher of Whisky Magazine Japan. Whisky retailer

Return to “Whisky News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests