Need some advice

All your whisky related questions answered here.
Etobian

Need some advice

Postby Etobian » Mon Feb 08, 2016 3:53 am

I'm relatively new to Scotch. My boss introduced me to it on a business trip. Can't remember what we had but I liked it. My first bottle of Scotch was a Macallan 15. Next bottle was a Macallan 18. Both were given to me as gifts and I enjoyed them. The Macallan 18 really got me hooked on Scotch. Given the price of Macallan and the fact you can no longer get the 'age designation' stuff I decide to try some others. First bottle Aberlour A'bunadh (Really, really loved this one even though it was very strong), followed by Glenlivet 18 ( It was just okay), Next Balvenie 12 Doublewood (Also very enjoyable), I'm now part way through a Aberfeldy 12 (It's just okay - I keep getting flavours of supher). I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what I should try next? I'm trying to find good Scotch that won't break the bank.
Thanks in advance :D

Muskrat Portage
Triple Gold Member

Re: Need some advice

Postby Muskrat Portage » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:15 am

Off the top of my head, Glenmorangie makes a decent whisky as does Glendronach. Edradour CS is similar to A'Bunadh but sometimes difficult to source unless you are in Edinburgh. (I know a place, eh jmrl!)
If you want something I like, Kilchoman has some pretty decent bottlings as does Bunnahabhain.
You really can't go wrong with Highland Park for my money.

If you want to try a selection and not break the bank, search out some "mini" bottlings which give you a taste of the whisky for a reasonable outlay. Or go to a whisky shop for a tasting, if any are being held in your area. Many shops will have bottles set aside for samples, just ask. There may be a small fee to offset the cost of opening the samples.

Musky

Muskrat Portage
Triple Gold Member

Postby Muskrat Portage » Thu Feb 18, 2016 2:02 am