Need advice

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.
rosenet

Need advice

Postby rosenet » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:58 am

Hi there, I am fairly new to the world of good whiskies and in my search for my personal single malt nirvana I have (thank you corporate expense account) had the opportunity to try and fall in love with Macallen 18. Sadly I'm not quite to the point where I can justify the expense of keeping myself in M18 so I'm looking for less expensive alternatives. Obviously M12 is a prime candidate, but I don't want to miss anything less obvious. Here's more about my taste in single malt:

Speyburn 10: decent
Highland Park 12: very tasty, a tad too smoky
Talisker: too smoky
The Glenlivet: boring
Oban 10: good, but a bit salty
Laphraoig 10: surprisingly I like this a lot

So I'm thinking I like my scotch on the smooth, sweet side. Its also been suggested that I like speyside, though thats perhaps too broad a category to be really useful.

Any suggestions for what else I should be trying? I wouldn't be against trying a blend like Johnny Walker.

-Rosenet

randall fairbrook
Gold Member

Re: Need advice

Postby randall fairbrook » Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:21 am

have you tried the glenlivet nadurra yet?....the first taste is wow wow wow where did all of these notes come from?.....decent alcohol burn though..just savor your first taste for a while before you take another sip.....

i was very pleased with this one...

peergynt323
Gold Member

Postby peergynt323 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:06 am

How about Macallan Cask Strength or Aberlour A'bunadh?

Ryguy
Triple Gold Member

Postby Ryguy » Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:00 pm