Help Wanted (Next Purchase)

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.
pouranother
Bronze Member

Help Wanted (Next Purchase)

Postby pouranother » Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:38 pm

I am new to whisky and my current stock ,and budget, modest. I have what seems to be a quintessential "starter" set;

Balvenie DW
Highland Park 12
Macallan 12
Laphroaig 10

Laphroaig is far and away my favorite, I'm planning on making another purchase and have narrowed it down to a few choices;

Talisker 10
Laphroaig CS or QC

I would appreciate any input.

I also need help putting down the bottle of Laphroaig. :)

Scotty Mc
Silver Member

Postby Scotty Mc » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:10 pm

Out of the last two, I would choose the Talisker because it would broaden the taste spectrum.

However it may be wise to try a Lowlander, ie Auchentoshan as this way open your palate ready for the big Laphraoig CS's etc

lambda
Bronze Member

Postby lambda » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:18 pm

You should tell us what your aim is. If you would like to get to know more types of whisky, I can agree with Scotty Mc. But I'm sure you will enjoy the laphroaig CS or QC much more than an Auchtentoshan..

Scotty Mc
Silver Member

Postby Scotty Mc » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:30 pm

lambda wrote: But I'm sure you will enjoy the laphroaig CS or QC much more than an Auchtentoshan..

No doubt about it! :lol: When I first started it was HP 12yo and I found it to be too powerful so I started properly on the sweeter whiskies, got the taste then experimented with the HP again (lovely stuff) and the CS's etc.

I find that the Laphroaig CS blows my face off everytime :D

pouranother
Bronze Member

Postby pouranother » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:35 pm